Library Commission


  • Fourth Monday of September, January, July and April
  • 7:00 pm

About the Commission

The Library Commission considers and advises on matters relating to the EGR library building, programs, and services, and works closely with an active "Friends of the East Grand Rapids Library" organization to supplement programming and events.

Salina Bishop - Chairperson 2023-2024appointed  7/01/2023; ends 6/30/2026
David Westphal - Secretaryappointed  7/01/2022; ends 6/30/2025
Michelle Grinnell - Vice Chairappointed 11/15/2021; ends 6/30/2026
Micki Benzappointed 11/05/2021; ends 6/30/2024
Ryan Duffieldappointed  7/01/2020; ends 6/30/2026
Mary O'Kellyappointed  7/01/2022; ends 6/30/2024
Lori Johnsonappointed  7/01/2021; ends 6/30/2024
Michael Meyersappointed  7/01/2023; ends 6/30/2026
Abbie Groff-Blaszak - City Commission Liaisonappointed  12/05/2023; ends 12/2026

Join an Advisory Board

If you are interested in serving on an advisory board, please fill out a commission application form and return it to:

City Clerk’s Office
750 Lakeside Drive SE
East Grand Rapids, MI 49506

Available appoints vary each year. Appointments are for three-year terms. Applications are kept on file for two years. Appointments are made by the mayor and affirmed by the City Commission.

Meetings are open to the public. Public Participation & Public Comment Policy.