To send an email to the entire commission, send to
Ward 1
Ryan Burdick

Ryan Burdick and his wife, Stephanie, have been raising their two sons, Walter and George, in East Grand Rapids for the past five years. Ryan previously served as a professional pilot, where he managed both domestic and international trips. He is currently a stay-at-home dad and gained experience in local government by serving on the EGR Parks and Recreation Commission in 2021. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Western Michigan University. His family enjoys spending time in East and connecting with residents when they are out and about. As a City Commissioner, Ryan enjoys listening to residents and connecting them with the right resources.

Ryan was appointed to the first ward seat in February 2023. 

Home Address: 2904 Pioneer Club Road SE        Phone: (734) 926-5585  Email Ryan
Date Appointed: February 2023                            Term Ends: December 2023

Marc Schulz was elected to the City Commission in November 2021.

Home Address:   904 Bellclaire SE                      Phone:  (616) 644-3772     Email Marc
Date Elected:      November 2021                       Term Ends: December 2025

Ward 2

Chris Wessley

Chris Wessely and his wife Kim have lived in East Grand Rapids since 2013.  Together, they have four children plus a dog and a cat.  Chris graduated from Aquinas College as a Political Science and Communication major and graduated top of his class, valedictorian, from the Secchia Institute of Culinary Education in Grand Rapids.  Chris is the founder of the Sport & Social Club and the new Noodlepig Ramen shop, two local businesses in town.  On the side, Chris teaches private culinary and mixology classes.

Home Address: 1447 Woodcliff SE                       Phone: (616) 915-7090   Email Chris
Date Elected: November 2021                              Term Ends: December 2025

Karey Hamrick
Karey Hamrick and her husband Brian are real estate investors and have lived in East Grand Rapids since 2005. They have two young children in the EGR school district. Karey serves on the Joint Facilities and Infrastructure and Finance Committees.

Home Address: 3004 Oakwood Dr SE Phone: (616) 326-1608 Email Karey
Date Elected: November 2015                                Term Ends: December 2023

Ward 3

John Arendshorst

John Arendshorst and his wife Liz live in East Grand Rapids with their two daughters, who attend Lakeside Elementary. John is a partner with Varnum LLP specializing in employee benefits law. John serves on the as a member of the Infrastructure Committee, and is the City Commission's liason to the Planning Commission, where he served from 2015-2019, and the Parks and Recreation Commission. When not working, John enjoys biking, hiking, skiing, and cooking.

Home Address: 2056 Wilshire Dr Ave SE                Phone: (312) 919-0773   Email John
Date Elected: November 2019                                 Term Ends: December 2023

Laura Schwartz was elected to the commission in November 2021.

Home Address: 902 Floral Ave SE                        Phone: (617) 634-9465   Email Laura
Date Elected: November 2021                              Term Ends: December 2025