Fireworks have long been a favorite way to celebrate summer holidays, especially the Fourth of July. Gov. Rick Snyder singed the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act into law in 2012, which allows the sale and use of consumer fireworks that leave the ground. Since its inception, this has been a hot button topic. While the state law limited the regulations that local municipalities can put in place surrounding fireworks, East Grand Rapids does have a few ordinances that pertain to fireworks. If you plan to use them this summer, there are some things to keep in mind.
You can legally fire store-bought fireworks as allowed by the city’s ordinance:
§ 9.57E DISTURBANCE OF THE PEACE OFFENSES (excerpt)
No person shall:
(1) (a) Discharge, offer for sale, or possess any fireworks except the type and under the conditions permitted by the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act (M.C.L.A. §§ 28.451 et seq.);
(b) Ignite, discharge, or use consumer fireworks, as defined in the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act (M.C.L.A. §§ 28.451 et seq.):
1. On any day other than the following days: on December 31, after 11:00 a.m. and until 1:00 a.m. on January 1; on the Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding Memorial Day after 11:00 a.m. and until 11:45 p.m. on each of those days; on June 29 to July 4 after 11:00 a.m. and until 11:45 p.m. on each of those days; on July 5, if July 5 is a Friday or Saturday, after 11:00 a.m. and until 11:45 p.m.; and on the Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding Labor Day, after 11:00 a.m. and until 11:45 p.m. on each of those days;
2. On public or school property, without the express permission of the city or a permit from the city granting such permission to do so; or
3. On church property or the property of another, without express permission from the property owner.
(c) Ignite, discharge, or use consume fireworks, or low-impact fireworks, as defined in the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act (M.C.L.A. §§ 28.451 et seq.), while under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or a combination of alcoholic liquor and a controlled substance, as the terms are defined in the Michigan Motor Vehicle Code (M.C.L.A. §§ 257.1 et seq.); or
(d) Sell consumer fireworks to an individual who is less than 18 years of age.
(2) A person who is guilty of a violation of this division (E) is responsible for a civil infraction punishable by a fine of $1,000. Five hundred dollars of the fine collected under this section shall be remitted to the City Department of Public Safety which is responsible for enforcing the ordinance.
No. Fireworks, rockets or sparklers may not be possessed or ignited in a public park unless permission, or a fireworks permit, has been obtained beforehand from the Parks & Recreation Dept. and unless such possession and use complies with Section 9.57E of Chapter 93 of the City Code (see above).
Yes, the city ordinance contains a fine of $1,000 for violating the fireworks ordinance.
Of course, we encourage people to call 949-7010 when they observe any violations of the law, fireworks or other.
If you plan to set off fireworks, we encourage you to be aware if you have any veterans living near you as they can be a PTSD trigger for veterans who were engaged in combat. We encourage you to first reach out to your neighbors if you plan to set them off so they can be aware of your plans. Many pets also react negatively to firework displays.
Please be safe if you are utilizing fireworks to celebrate this summer!